Saturday, March 04, 2017

Set up Adobe PDF viewer in TeXnicCenter

After long time without using TeXnicCenter, suddenly found out the PDF viewer does not work any more. It seems that every time when Adobe updates their PDF reader, there are settings that need to be changed in TeXnicCenter.

The first step is to disable "Enable Protected Mode at startup" in the Adobe PDF viewer (Edit>Preferences>General or  Edit -> Preferences -> Security(Enhanced), depends on the version). The change the settings in TexnicCenter.

Basically in the Viewer settings there are four sections that need to be changed. The Executable Path should point to the location where the PDF viewer is . The table below summaries the other settings.



Version
View project's output and  Forward search
Close document before running (La)TeX
X
Select DDE command and the command is
[DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][FileOpen("%bm.pdf")]
Server: arcroviewR10    Topic: Control
The server above is for Adobe Reader.
For Adobe Acrobat Pro, use arcroviewA10.
Select DDE command and the command is
[DocClose("%bm.pdf")]
Server: arcroviewR10    Topic: Control
The server above is for Adobe Reader.
For Adobe Acrobat Pro, use arcroviewA10.
If the command does not work, use [AppExit]
Instead.
XI
Choose Command line argument and type in "%bm.pdf"
Select DDE command and the command is
[AppExit]
Server: arcroviewR11    Topic: Control
The server above is for Adobe Reader.
For Adobe Acrobat Pro, use arcroviewA11.
DC
Use the setting for X or XI. The Server is arcroviewR15 for reader and arcroviewA 15 for Acrobat Pro.   
Use the setting for X or XI. The Server is arcroviewR15 for reader and arcroviewA 15 for Acrobat Pro.   





Friday, October 02, 2015

Your player is out of date malware

Suppose your homepage is set as Google. When you open Firefox, it shows the Google as the start-up page, but in addition, there is a popup window of a scary warning:

WARNING! Your (Flash) Player may be out of date. Please update, blah blah…

It may not have the word “Flash”, but the icon next to the warning looks like that it is a Adobe Flash update.

Wait - if you look carefully - you are still at Google page, based on the address bar, but the page looks different from the normal Google page. Now it contains lots of extra links, and the links seem legitimate. However, why it shows the Flash player warning? Google search doesn’t use Flash.

You are right, this is caused by malware. To remove this malware, simply Google “Your player is out of date malware” and follow the advice given.

However, the issue comes back and back again even you have scanned your computer several times using well-known anti-malware software! Don’t panic, it is not your fault. You may forget to check your router, which may be comprised. For example, a strange DNS server is set, or bridge mode is used instead of PPPoE in the modem.

Find out all the necessary information to set your modem/router, do a factory reset, update the firmware if there is a new version available. Set the modem/router and see how it goes.

You may the link below useful:
http://malwaretips.com/blogs/warning-your-flash-player-may-be-out-of-date-virus/

Saturday, August 01, 2015

Upgrade Dell XPS 15 L502X to Windows 10

Yesterday I upgraded my Dell XPS 15 L502X from Windows 7 to Windows 10. The whole process was smooth except a few problems.
Before upgrade, I uninstalled some software I rarely or seldom used.
  • The Dell Stage should be uninstalled; it is not compatible with Windows 10.
  • OneDrive should be uninstalled too.
  • Firewall software should be uninstalled unless it is compatible with Windows 10.
After upgrade, there were a few issues:
  • No sound: download the latest driver from Dell and reinstall.
  • No HDMI audio:download the latest driver from NVIDIA  and install.
  • OneDrive not working: probably you have OneDrive installed before upgrade and haven’t uninstalled it before upgrade. In Windows 10, search OneDrive, uninstall the OneDrive (Desktop app), and unlink the account via OneDrive tray icon.
  • Could not access Internet: the Windows firewall is set to block everything. Change to the default value “Allow” or disable it for now.